24
Jan
10

And so it begins


I have decided to create a blog.

Well that much should be evident by the fact that this even exists, but I digress.

I have decided to start a blog.  One to chronicle the development of my hobby hopefully into a career.

Thoughts, ideas, samples, requests for constructive criticism.

I have done many things so far in my life.  Most of them starting out as hobbies or things that managed to hold my interest for more then a few days.  For the past few years I have been writing web code.  I enjoyed it when I started.  It was a challenge, and i could build things that were helpful and useful.  Of all the things it was, it wasn’t fulfilling any of my creative desires.

In college, when I was studying graphic design, I doodled something in my sketchbook that has stayed with me.  It was a quick doodle, nothing fancy, I might even still have it.  It was a wireframe of a person.  In the persons head wear equations, binary code, concepts.  But in the persons chest, over his heart, were colors and shapes, patterns and beauty.  It was clear to me that it represented my conundrum.  The mind of an analyst, but the heart of an artist.

I have always been drawn to computers and technology.  Things with lights and computer chips have fascinated me for as long as I can remember, and they still do, just not the same way.  I have always been interested in art for as long as I can remember.  I used to get in trouble in elementary school because i would sit at the benches and draw.  The yard aid thought that was unhealthy and that little boys and girls should be out playing during recess.  But even then my doodles were of technology I would dream up in my head.  In high school is when i first started with photography.  Using my moms old Minolta 35mm (film) SLR.  I cost my parents alot of money in film and processing.  It was worth it.  Its something I loved doing.  But as I got older I had to get jobs to support myself and at the time photography didnt seem like something I could do for a living (my mom also told me when I was a child “you cant get paid for playing video games”) and so it fell to the wayside.

As I write this I am 28 years old.  I have worked as a barista, a sales drone in a music shop, a game tester for the two largest game publishers in the world (so mom you sure I cant get paid to play video games?), and a free lance web developer.  None of these have given me any sense of fulfillment.  I never forgot about photography, I had point and shoots, and it was OK, but it wasnt the same.

In 2007 my father passed away.  When he passed away I felt I let him down (and to an extent still do).  I felt I let him down because there was never a time I could tell him I loved what I did.  It was because of my father that I got into computers.  He brought our first “real” computer home for christmas when I was about 8, and that as they say, is that.  He did everything he could to make sure my brother and I were ahead of the curve he saw coming.  And he did a great job.  My brother and I are some of the most computer capable people I know.  My brother works as a programer for a big company, I float from tech job to tech job, because it isnt what I want anymore.

When he passed there was some money that was passed to my brother and I.  The first two things I bought were a new car because my old car was falling apart, and a Canon 40D DSLR camera. The camera is something I had been dreaming about for a few years.  A friend of mine had let me use hers years earlier and it re-lit the fire that had died down.

I bought the camera, I bought lenses, I bought flashes, tripod.  The works.  I knew I didnt know how to use everything, or that there was cheap gear to buy.  I had the money and i wanted gear that I could grow into and not out of.  There comes a point where you are going to reach the technical limits of your equipment, and I didnt want that to come so fast that it would keep me from getting as good as I could be.

Its been a little over 2 years since I bought the camera.  I havent used it as much as I would have liked, but I’m looking to change all that.  Im trying to shoot something everyday.  I know Im not going to meet that goal right away, but over time I want to be able to say that I used that camera everyday, and that everyday I got a little better.

This is going to be where I talk about it.  Where I rant about it.  Where i discuss things I dont understand about it.  You get the idea.

To all my friends who have encouraged this, and supported this, thank you.

And so it begins…

6 Responses to “And so it begins”


  1. 1 Laura
    January 24, 2010 at 2:57 pm

    I’m proud of you.

  2. 3 Lorena
    January 27, 2010 at 9:05 am

    I’m blessed with a VERY talented son. Beautiful work.

  3. 4 andree
    January 27, 2010 at 9:18 am

    good job david do what makes you happy

  4. January 30, 2010 at 8:38 am

    You are now added to my blogroll list.

    O HAI DAVID WASSUP?!?111


Leave a Reply

